Working on my long-term health

 

In my last post I talked about regretting my decision to start up exercise again so quickly. 

In the last few weeks I’ve had a lot of problems and it now turns out that I’ve had a uterine prolapse. It’s only grade 1, but it’s been enough to make me feel grotty. It’s hard to tell whether this was from the birth of my daughter or whether I made things worse by exercising too soon. I suspect the latter. 

I’m seeing a lovely physiotherapist who is confident I can manage the problem without having to go down the route of surgery. But for now it means I have to stick to strict pelvic floor exercises and hip stretches rather than go all out at the gym. 

I haven’t worked out properly for 3 weeks now, but it seems to have been beneficial. I’ve lost seven pounds and the pain is going away  slowly. 
At this stage, I don’t know whether lifting heavy weights will be a possibility for me again. I’m not sure whether it will ever be worth it again. I want to be fit and healthy but I feel like another path would be better now. 

For now I’m taking recovery one step at a time – I need to think of the bigger picture which is living a healthy, pain free lifestyle. 

2 Comments

Leave a Reply

