Mind Over Matter

  
Working out when you’re a mum is hard. I won’t lie. I have a six year old and 2 month old and of course, they’re my main priority. BUT… For my own sense of wellbeing, I need to workout. 

Many mums I talk to seem to have the opinion that it’s selfish or they need to dedicate hours at a time, but I think it can work if you want it to. 

Take this morning for example, husband went for a run and I was itching to workout. Once Miss Zoey was fed, I got on my yoga mat to complete a BBG workout. What I love so much about Kayla’s approach is that you can complete the 7 minute circuits all at once or in blocks. Today I was fortunate enough to do the entire 28 minutes followed by a strength session in the garage. Other times, I have to break it up throughout the day. 

I’ve talked before of how my self esteem is pretty much directly linked to how I look. Wish it wasn’t the case, but I’m working on all of that. So for me, eating right and sweating out that post-Bub weight is the best approach. 

I actually think it’s healthy for kids to see mum work out. For me, it’s setting them both a good example. Harrison often joins in with a mini WoD – its great bonding time for us!

I also don’t think that workouts have to be done in a gym. I’m lucky enough to have a garage set up which I use regularly. But if you don’t have this, a yoga mat is a great start. Thirty minutes a day is all you really need to build up a sweat and feel better. 

Anyway, it’s important for mums to realise that the baby weight won’t all come off at once. It’s not as easy as some of the trashy mags make out. You kinda have to work for it ๐Ÿ’ช๐Ÿป๐Ÿ‘Š๐Ÿป๐Ÿ˜
  

Leave a Reply

